What can I say?

I’ve been away for a long while, huh?  I struggle with depression and it’s had me down for the count recently.

Politics gets me wound up, but the stupidity of the American public gets me down. Things that get me wound up and then get me down:

Birtherism.  Now there’s a term to go down in the annals of American history.  That’s super sekrit code for racism.  Now they want his transcripts?!  For the love of God (or whoever you worship), why?  Affirmative Action, you say?  What the hell difference does it make?  It all comes down to his race.  He’s a black man who won the presidency fair and square (unlike Dubya in 2000) and it’s driving these backwoods, country rednecks absolutely out of their gourds.

Even Tea Party darling Michelle Bachman conceded that it was “over.”  Donald Trump is an idiot. Anyone who thinks of him-or herself as a birther is an idiot.

Paul Ryan wants to end Medicare.  Give these little elderly folks a voucher. Now, my Mother was one of those little elderly folks that was on Medicare.  I know without a doubt that she would have gotten royally screwed had she dealt with a voucher from the government that she then would have to take to a private insurance company to purchase insurance. The voucher will not cover the costs of insurance–individuals who, being elderly and likely already sick, are among the highest risk for insurers and would therefore shift more costs to seniors. (BTW, even that same Tea Party darling Michelle Bachmann does not support a voucher system.)

Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX)  thinks that people on unemployment are like alcoholics.

Rep. Sally Kern, R-Oklahoma City says that minorities don’t earn as much as white people because they don’t work as hard and have less initiative.  She also thinks that women don’t want to work as hard as men. Wait, I didn’t just see what I think I saw, did I?  Yep.  This asshat takes the cake. In one broad swoop she insults minorities and women.

There is so much more, but I guess I’ll save that for another post.  I’m depressed again now thinking about all the idiots in this country who believe in these quasi-guerrilla warfare tactics.

Leave a Reply

